Who We Are

For more than 100 years, the College of Science has been a vital part of Purdue University. Founded by Stanley Coulter in 1907, the College has helped foster some of history's greatest minds within its seven departments: Chemistry, Statistics, Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Physics, Mathematics, and Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences. From Purdue's inception, Science has been a driving force at the university. Chemistry was one of Purdue's first departments while Computer Science, which is celebrating its 50th year, was one of the first of its kind in the nation. Chemistry has two Nobel Prize winners to its credit.

College of Science students

In 2010, Prof. Ei-ichiNegishi won the honor 21 years after his colleague and former postdoctoral mentor, the late Prof. Herbert C. Brown, did the same. While history flows through the College of Science, its advancements are palpable. The Lawson Computer Science Building is a sleek, state of the art facility. Physics professors Ian Shipsey and Daniela Bortoletto were highlyinvolved in the recent discovery of the Higgs boson. Faculty and their students routinely travel the world to further their research. There are more than 40 different majors available in the seven departments and job placement is higher than 90 percent after graduation. Numerous exemplary graduate programs havehelped mold the world's new scientists as well. The College of Science's first 100 years has seen tremendous growth and groundbreaking achievement; the next 100 are sure to propel science even further.

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.