College of Science well-represented in 2014 Woodrow Wilson fellowships


Hilarie Hahus

2014 EAPS graduate Hilarie Hahus is a Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellow.

Recent College of Science alumni were awarded Woodrow Wilson national fellowships in June.

The Woodrow Wilson MBA Fellowship in Education Leadership recruits and prepares outstanding leaders for schools and districts in participating states. The goal: to address the United States’ twin educational achievement gaps — the one between the nation’s lowest performing and its best schools, as well as the one between the nation’s best schools and their top international competitors. The Fellowship seeks both to prepare leaders who can bring all American schools up to world-class levels of performance and to develop a new gold standard for preparing education leaders.

Fellows were nominated by a local education leader/colleague before they were eligible to apply. The fellowship program will provide specialized preparation in areas such as leadership, finance, human resources and organizational change — all focusing on education. The program will require 13 to 15 months of full-time study, depending on the institution — two summers and an academic year.

Look for these men and women to make an impact in Indiana science education:

David Hobaugh (BS ’13, Chemistry) became a Woodrow Wilson MBA Fellow. He is currently science department chairman and chemistry teacher at Tri-West High School in Lizton.

The WW MBA Fellows are all seasoned educators, nominated by their schools and districts. Each Fellow receives a $50,000 stipend and agrees, upon completion of the program at the University of Indianapolis, to serve in a leadership role in an Indiana school or district for at least three years, with Foundation-supported mentoring.

Those receiving Woodrow Wilson teaching fellowships and continuing their education are:

  • Todd Bauer (MS ’14, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology)
  • Jessica Carlson (BS ’05, Molecular Biology)
  • Hilarie Hahus (BS ’14, Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences)

Bauer will study at Purdue while Hahus will attend Valparaiso University. Carlson will continue her eudcation training at the University of Indianapolis.

Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellows receive a $30,000 stipend to complete a special intensive master’s that will prepare them to teach math and/or science in Indiana’s urban and rural public schools.

“Study after study has shown that the single most important in-school factor in student achievement is access to excellent classroom teachers,” said Arthur Levine, president of the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation. “These Fellows are bringing real science and math expertise to the kids who most need them. They’re going to change tens of thousands of lives.”

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.