College of Science Dean search down to five final candidates


After months of phone and Skype interviews, five candidates have been invited to campus to interview for the Frederick L. Hovde Dean of the College of Science opening. They will conduct seminar presentations and open dialogue sessions to engage the College during the interview process. They will meet graduate and undergraduate students. Each candidate will spend two days with the College. The first interview was March 22 and the last will be April 14.

Craig Svensson has been intermin dean of the College since July, soon after Jeff Roberts stepped down as dean. The final candidate should be named before June.

Thomas O'Halloran Thomas O'Halloran -- Founding director, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute; Charles E. & Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University
Ensor Katherine Ensor -- Professor of statistics; director for the Center for Computational Finance and Economic Systems; former Department of Statistics Chair at Rice University
Patrick Wolfe Patrick Wolfe -- Professor, Royal Society Research Fellow, EPSRC Mathematical Sciences Established Career Fellow at University College London

Sunil Prabhakar -- Department head and professor, Department of Computer Science in Purdue’s College of Science


Dietmar Bisch -- Director, Center for Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras; professor of Mathematics; former Department of Mathematics chairman at Vanderbilt University

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.