Mathematics professor earns University Faculty Scholar designation


The Office of the Provost recently named Peijun Li, associate professor of mathematics, a University Faculty Scholar, effective July 1.

Mathematics Prof. Peijun Li

The University Scholar designation recognizes outstanding accomplishments by associate professors or full professors within five years of their promotion to that rank. The term of appointment is five years and includes a discretionary allocation.

Question: What does the University Scholar honor mean to you? How will it help you?

Answer: I am truly honored and grateful to be selected as a University Faculty Scholar. It is a confirmation and recognition of my past work. More importantly, it is an encouragement for me to continue pursuing academic and professional development opportunities.

Q: What aspect of your research did the committee respond to the most? What part of it led you to this honor?

A: My research spans several interconnecting fields in applied and computational mathematics with an emphasis on modeling, analysis, and computation of the direct and inverse scattering problems for wave propagation in complex and random environments. I have made significant efforts to develop effective mathematical models, analyze challenging mathematical issues, and design efficient computational algorithms for solving problems that arise from multi-scale and multi-physics processes of the interactions between wave fields and complex and random media.

Q: What research are you working on now?

A: I am currently working on direct and inverse problems for near-field imaging of rough surfaces.

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.